search Quick Email Signup EPI
About Us

Our Mission

What is EPI?

What We Do?



    Board of Directors

    Board of Advisors

    GEAR UP Advisory Group

Associate Researchers

Clients and Funders

Board of Directors



JAY GOFF (Director) is Vice President for enrollment and retention management at Saint Louis University in St. Louis, Missouri. Prior to joining SLU in 2011, Mr. Goff served as Dean of enrollment management at Missouri University of Science & Technology in Rolla, Missouri. While at Missouri SP&T, the institution achieved record enrollments, retention, and graduation rates. Mr. Goff has written articles and presented workshops at many regional and national programs, mostly focusing the values of team building and training, quality student-service systems and data-driven planning. He serves on the ACT national education advisory board and is AACRAO’ strategic enrollment management conference coordinator for four-year colleges and universities. Goff completed his undergraduate and graduate degrees in communication studies with a focus on organizational communication from Southeast Missouri State University and the University of Kansas, respectively.  His doctoral work focuses on leadership development in higher education.


WATSON SCOTT SWAIL (Chairman; Secretary) is the President and CEO of the Educational Policy Institute. Widely respected in the area of college opportunity research, Dr. Swail has published extensively in national journals and publications. Prior to establishing EPI, Dr. Swail served as the Founding Director of The Pell Institute and Vice President of the Council for Opportunity in Education in Washington, DC. He previously served as senior policy analyst with SRI International and associate director for policy analysis with the College Board. He is a former public school technology teacher in the United States and in his native Canada. Dr. Swail received his Ed.D in Educational Policy from The George Washington University.