search Quick Email Signup EPI US Canada

Retention 2011

Conference Home


Pre-Conference Workshop

Featured Speakers

Call for Papers/Presentations

Call for Award Nominations


Hotel & Travel Information

Sponsorship &
Marketing Opportunities

Contact Us

Retention 2011 Outstanding Student Retention Award


EPI’s Outstanding Student Retention Program Award is presented annually to a four- or two-year institution that exhibits excellence in the development and implementation of a student retention program. Research has shown that students who drop out or stop post secondary education not only personally suffer negative consequences, but also pass those consequences on to society and the institution itself. By honoring the excellent work being done by institutions today to create programs that use innovative means to help students realize their goals, EPI hopes to further its mission of creating opportunities for minority students at post secondary institutions. Successful student retention programs recognize that cognitive, social and institutional factors all play a role in student retention and persistence.


The most effective student retention programs address these three components by examining financial aid packages, course availability and content, as well as implementing support mechanisms such as tutoring, mentoring and career counseling. It is also imperative to have a means of tracking students through school and monitoring the program’s success so that the institution may determine which methods are effective and those that need improvement.

Past award winners include:

2009 - Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), Robert Morris University, and Seneca College

2008 - Oklahoma City University & Texas A&M University

2007 - Youngstown State University

2006 - University of Connecticut



Nomination Process

Anyone may nominate a program for consideration. To nominate a program for the 2011 Outstanding Student Retention Program Award, please email Emma at or fill in the application HERE. The deadline is March 15, 2011.